The share option within Claude tells a user that “anyone with the link” may view the contents of that link, but does not explicitly state that the link may end up in Google and search results.
It seems like people clicked the “make chat public” button and then shared the link with someone who eventually posted it on a page that got crawled?
Maybe there’s two mistakes here: 1: the user made the chat public and 2: Maybe Anthropic didn’t have their robots.txt file set correctly?
I mean, it seems like the big mistake here is from the users… they clicked the “make this chat public”… unless I’m missing something?