Harry

@harrybo93@lemmy.world · Joined ⁨Jun⁩ ⁨2023⁩

Moderator of The Gamer’s Tavern Community: !the_gamer_tavern@lemmy.world

Peertube: video.gamerstavern.online/c/mastercrasher/videos?…

Mastodon: gamerstavern.online/@harrybo

The Gamer’s Tavern Discord: discord.gg/xxReRYGF4r

Replying to @⁨schizoidman@lemmy.zip⁩

I have a Samsung TV that I suspect does this. Once upon a time (back when I was less knowledgeable about this practice) I connected my TV to the internet. I have since been totally I able to forget my network from the TV, even a factory reset didn’t wipe the network settings from it. I’ve had to block it from the network at a router level.

I only discovered it was still doing this when I got a new router, and I had a popup on my TV saying “software update downloaded and complete” and I was wondering how tf it did that even though I’d gone through the process of forgetting the network, and seemingly the settings showed it had been “done”.

Shady fucks.

Replying to @⁨Some_Emo_Chick@lemmy.world⁩

Ha! Well, I’m glad we moved our gaming community off of it when all this kicked off first time round, knowing full well it wouldn’t be the last time they tried this shit. We started entirely self hosting our community to focus on user privacy and haven’t looked back since.

If people want a link to join, comment or DM, I don’t want this to come across like a sales pitch or shill lol